I stand corrected

I’ve recently tweeted:

First non-German site to use @heiseonline‘s social share #privacy widget is @ThaiFoodBlog‘s

I stand corrected. Apparently the noblogs collective already has an English version of Heise’s widget, and it’s a mighty slick wordpress plugin too (you can see it at the bottom of this post).

So let me rephrase my pompous announcement:

There’s an English fork of Heise’s code (with the intention to merge any future changes in the German upstream version), and now there’s a real-life site using it.

I do hope autistici  maintain a public repository of their plugin, or at least have the plugin available for downloads (it’s all in Italian, but I’ll try to contact them). There’s a place for both projects, because some sites are not in wordpress 🙂

Update: turns out the Internet Storm Center was actually the first to use an English speaking variant of Heise’s widget. Still AFAIK, my fork is the first internationalized version that has a public repository (or even offers the code for download).

O HAI

In the beginning, I’ve opened this blog in order to check out this wordpress plugin wonder, but then I thought to myself: I’ve always wanted to have a “real” blog. I already have a few “unreal” ones, but it’s nice to have a home for bits of wisdom that are longer than a tweet or a commit comment. Something with a feed. Something I can add wordpress plugins to. Something I don’t need to upgrade myself.

I already love this place.

This entry was posted in Specific. Bookmark the permalink.