The global village’s rusty plumbing

I wake up in the morning to find out that 666kb.com is down [again], which means zillions of pages out there show broken images. At least one of these zillions is mine.

To make things worse, jottit.com is down too – which means we can’t see MagnetHead.jottit.com either. This makes my previous post here lose quite a lot of its weight, and  I don’t mean this in a good way.

The global village has lost its immunity system. The big promise of what was once called “web 2.0” and later on “the cloud” got its makeup all messed up, just like a housing project that looks good on the day the mayor cuts the ribbon.

On days like this I feel like Spider Jerusalem. I hate it here. I just want to move to the mountains, install a box with some server software and call it home. 90s style.

I don’t even feel like registering a domain for it and letting someone hurt me by taking that domain down later on. After all, the root CA (of everyone, even the Chinese) is a California-based NGO (so the only thing protecting them from federal shenanigans is Schwarzenegger 🙂 ). If you really want me that bad, memorize an ip number or an onion domain. If you don’t – go play with your friends on facebook – it probably won’t go down on you because you’re not a customer but rather a commodity, and corporates tend to protect their assets (until they go belly up – of course – but today I don’t have enough optimism in me to envision that).

Update: had my morning coffee. I feel a bit better now, but only a little (for example, it just occurred to me I didn’t physically live in a city, so things could have been worse). Anyway – try not to upset me today.

Yet another update: they’re both back up, but I’m still grumpy.

This entry was posted in Specific. Bookmark the permalink.