+2 widgets for WordPress

If you have a wordpress blog, the easiest way for you to add the +2 widget to it is by installing a plug-in that supplies an English variant of Heise’s widget.

I’ve just found out that what we use here at noblogs is Lucha‘s plug-in (github), and from Lucha’s readme I’ve learned about other options that are worth checking out (XSD socialshareprivacy, for example).  As I learn more about these (and perhaps other) plug-ins, I may update this post about their pros and cons.

I’ll keep maintaining my version – of course – because not all sites are wordpress blogs 😉

This entry was posted in Specific. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to +2 widgets for WordPress

  1. lucha says:

    by the way, I rewrote the javascript part of the plugin too (now it’s more modular and should be easier to maintain and update). It’s independent of the WordPress plugin and can be used anywhere else.

    There are some limitations to the idea had by Heise.de: for example, give a multi-language options is not trivial. But I’ll be happy to include ideas from other sources 🙂

    • The Dod says:

      My approach is to always use the latest version of Heise as is (so that if tomorrow facebook changes something, Heise are sure to adapt and I can simply upgrade to their latest version. What my extra code does is just generate the proper options argument (English text, but not only).
      Could be useful to make the language a parameter of the option-generating function, and instead of socialSharePrivacy(window.ssp_settings_en({…})) do socialSharePrivacy(window.ssp_settings_i18n(‘en’,{…}). As soon I find someone to translate to another language, I think that’s what I’ll do.
      Your plugin uses different js code than Heise’s, but you could apply the same idea: do all the i18n as something that generates the options you send the jquery function.
      What do you think?

      .

  2. lucha says:

    About the updates: I’ve deviced my code so that it’s easy to modify the code for the buttons. I tried to push some modifies up to heise.de, but they didn’t even answered me, so I’m not really trusting them to maintain the code…

    on the other side, it’s not obvious to me how to localize javascript code, and this tells you a lot how expert am I 🙂 What you propose implies that you have to send all the translations to the client, independently to what language they’ll need. I thought this was excessive, and I was going to put everything inside WordPress anyhow.

    There is an italian.mo for my version of the plugin: have a look at it, and use things if you feel like.

    cheers

Comments are closed.